Forum Index -> Chit-Chat

AT cultura? anyone know of them? ---- Brainless HELP!!!!!!!!
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Reply to topic
Post new topic
Author Message
Garry1953



Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 222
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 8:53 am    Post subject: AT cultura? anyone know of them? ---- Brainless HELP!!!!!!!! Reply with quote

Hi I recieved the email below. (Edited out the return address)
Anyone know of this publication?
Is this real?.... or another scam!!!!.

Garry

Quote:
Cуrdoba, Argentina.
Dear Visual Artist Garry Purcell,

Found out its work quality, we considered your possible incorporation in the book "CONTEMPORARY ART, IMAGES AND CRITIC" produced by ATcultura.
Biographies and images of artists ; commentaries by prominents reviewers,messages and essays of Contemporary Art, will be present in this highquality book, big format, it will be distribuited on first universities and museums of the world.
Book will be edited in illustration paper, with photocrom illustrations and in a fancy box, covered by a luxe cloth binding, bilingual ( Spanish and English).
Artists invited to take part of edition, will invite by a selection criteria of quality.
Between artists confirmed are master and emergent artists same last edition of art "Iberoamerican Contemporary Art" (you can see on www.atcultura.com) Regina Josй Galindo, winner Lyon of gold in last Biennale di Venecia, Valhia Carvalho, Biennal de Sao Paulo, etc.
Atcultura is sponsored formally by the Government and enterprises but solicit not subsidies from they, wherefore ATcultura prefer avoid any possible conditionament, this colaborative project solicit to artists one minimum monetary contribution.
If would be interesting participation in this book for you, we require you as soon possiblereply to: [REMOVED RETURN EMAIL] with a brief biography for be larged to future, adress and phone number, to be considered one of selectioned artist for receive own proposal.
Please donґt send attached picture files by e-mail, because it may blocked out our mail.

Best regards.

Dipl. Ricardo Lescano Grosso, Director.
AT cultura.
Back to top
Kayleen Stewart



Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1793
Location: Yarra Valley

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:21 am    Post subject: Re - AT cultura? anyone know of them? ---- Brainless HELP!!! Reply with quote

hmmm I would skip it. Web Site is not even in English. Wink
Back to top
Kayleen West - Artist/Illustrator ABOUT LISTING TYPES
Garry1953



Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 222
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:57 am    Post subject: Re: Re - AT cultura? anyone know of them? ---- Brainless HEL Reply with quote

Kayleen Stewart wrote:
hmmm I would skip it. Web Site is not even in English. Wink


Kayleen
Thanks for your reply.
My thoughts .... Deep down, I think your right. Very Happy
I havn't responded to the email.

I added a webpage translator for you, and anyone else who dosn't read Spanish Very Happy

P.S. My future... son in law is Peruvian, and my daughter speaks spanish.
So the language is not a problem for me. Wink

http://babelfish.altavista.com/babelfish/trurl_pagecontent?lp=es_en&trurl=http%3a%2f%2fwww.atcultura.com%2fnosotros.htm

Garry
Back to top
Brainless 1



Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 1416
Location: Serial Killer City

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 2:44 pm    Post subject: Re - AT cultura? anyone know of them? ---- Brainless HELP!!! Reply with quote

HMMMM seems like another psuedo scam to me.

Might be real, but so is the money you will probably be asked to fork out
Back to top
Amandav



Joined: 17 Sep 2005
Posts: 1212
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 7:43 pm    Post subject: Re: AT cultura? anyone know of them? ---- Brainless HELP!!!! Reply with quote

Garry1953 wrote:
Hi I recieved the email below. (Edited out the return address)
Anyone know of this publication?
Is this real?.... or another scam!!!!.

Garry

Quote:
Cуrdoba, Argentina.
Dear Visual Artist Garry Purcell,

Found out its work quality, we considered your possible incorporation in the book "CONTEMPORARY ART, IMAGES AND CRITIC" produced by ATcultura.


Hi Gary, I got the same email.

I am steering clear - I get these sort of offes all the time and while the first email never mentions cost it is inevitably $500 US or similar. This one though I would stay away from not just for the cost factor but for what would undoubtedly be poor quality (just going by their web site). I have gone into a couple of books due to be publisehd soon but it has been a no cost arrangement - wouldn't have done it for a fee, but I'll be sure to let you al know if anything worthwhile comes out of being in such a publication.

Amanda
Back to top
Amanda van Gils - Artist ABOUT LISTING TYPES
Brad73



Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 2211
Location: Tamworth

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:17 pm    Post subject: Re - AT cultura? anyone know of them? ---- Brainless HELP!!! Reply with quote

I would say a scam...
Back to top
Brad Wrightson - Pencil Art and Prints ABOUT LISTING TYPES
minxdragon



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 2595
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 6:27 pm    Post subject: Re - AT cultura? anyone know of them? ---- Brainless HELP!!! Reply with quote

Hoo Ray! I got one too Very Happy my spam filter picked it up so I didn't see it at first.
Back to top
Garry1953



Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 222
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 7:29 pm    Post subject: Re - AT cultura? anyone know of them? ---- Brainless HELP!!! Reply with quote

minx

Congradulations,,,,,,,, Welcome to the "You Won't Get My Money Club"... hahahaha Very Happy

Garry
Back to top
Kayleen Stewart



Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1793
Location: Yarra Valley

PostPosted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 2:14 pm    Post subject: Re - AT cultura? anyone know of them? ---- Brainless HELP!!! Reply with quote

Oh you have one of those clubs too Gary Laughing Laughing Laughing
Back to top
Kayleen West - Artist/Illustrator ABOUT LISTING TYPES
minxdragon



Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 2595
Location: Melbourne

PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:19 pm    Post subject: Re - AT cultura? anyone know of them? ---- Brainless HELP!!! Reply with quote

Laughing Laughing I feel so honored Very Happy

I also got one of the best paypal ones I have ever seen too - an absolute work of art. I like it when they put some effort in, but its a real worry because people will fall for it. Liam gets several fraud issues every day from these emails at the NAB.
Back to top
 






 
Display posts from previous:   
Page 1 of 2   Reply to topic

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic

 

JOIN | HOME | FAQs | FORGOT PASSWORD | SEARCH | ABOUT | LINKS

The ArtForum.com.au website is proudly supported by:
The Australian art search engine
www.art-search.us  www.art-search.co.uk  www.art-search.ca  www.art-search.com.au  www.art-search.co.nz
and is owned by:
Brad Buchel
© 1998 - 2008    


Art Forum's Major Sponsor is:
Chroma - Artists Acrylic Paints, Oil Paints and Painting Mediums
Chroma - It's all about the Paint
www.chromaonline.com